

STATE

- Your Rights Under Illinois Employment Laws
- Workers Compensation Notice
- Notice to Workers About Unemployment Insurance Benefits
- Job Safety & Health (All State and Local Government Employers)
- Emergency Care for Choking
- Smoke-Free Illinois Act
- Conceal Carry Prohibited
- IDHR Pregnancy and Your Rights in the Workplace
- Human Trafficking
- IDHR Job Discrimination & Sexual Harassment
- Illinois Service Member Employment & Reemployment Rights Act (ISERRA)
- Victims' Economic Security and Safety Act (VESSA)
- Equal Pay Act Pay Transparency Notice
- Paid Leave For All Workers Act

FEDERAL

- Employee Rights Under the Fair Labor Standards Act
- EEOC Know Your Rights Poster
- Occupational Safety and Health Act (OSHA)
- Uniformed Services Employment & Reemployment Rights Action (USERRA)
- Family & Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
- Employee Polygraph Protection Act

2025 UPDATES

- State Posters
 - Your Rights Under Illinois Employment Laws
 - Job Safety and Health
 - IDHR Pregnancy and Your Rights in the Workplace
 - Victims' Economic Security and Safety Act (VESSA)
 - Equal Pay Act Pay Transparency Notice *New*

This is a summary of laws that satisfies Illinois Department of Labor posting requirements.

Your Rights Under Illinois Employment Laws



The mission of the Illinois Department of Labor is to protect and promote the wages, welfare, working conditions, and safety of Illinois workers by enforcing State labor and employment laws, providing compliance assistance to employers, and increasing public awareness of workplace protections. Through enforcement, education, and community partnerships, the Department works to ensure that workers are paid what they are owed and that employers who follow the law remain competitive.

Minimum Wage & Overtime

SETS MINIMUM WAGE FOR EMPLOYEES

Effective Jan. 1 2025

\$15.00 per hour

Applies to employers with 4 or more employees. Domestic workers are covered even if the employer only has 1 worker. Certain workers are not covered by the Minimum Wage Law and some workers may be paid less than the minimum wage under limited conditions.

\$9.00 PER HOUR

Applies to tipped employees. If an employee's tips combined with the wages from the employer do not equal the minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.

\$13.00 PER HOUR

Applies to youths (under 18) working fewer than 650 hours per calendar year.

Overtime

Most hourly employees and some salaried employees are covered by the overtime law and must be compensated at time and one-half their regular pay for hours worked over 40 in a workweek.

Hotline: 1-800-478-3998

Child Labor

WORKERS UNDER AGE 16

Children under the age of 14 may not work in most jobs, except under limited conditions.

14 and 15-year-olds may work if the following requirements are met:

- Employment certificates have been issued by the school district and filed with the Department of Labor confirming that a minor is old enough to work, physically capable to perform the job, and that the job will not interfere with the minor's education;
 - The work is not deemed a hazardous occupation (a full listing can be found on our website);
 - ° Work is limited to 3 hours per day on school days, 8 hours per day on non- school days and no more than 6 days or 18 hours per week when school is in session or 40 hours per week when school is not in session.
 - Work is performed only between the hours of 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. during the school year (7 a.m. to 9 p.m. June through September); and
 - A 30-minute meal period is provided no later than the fifth hour of work.

Hotline: 1-800-645-5784

Unpaid Wages

WAGE PAYMENT AND COLLECTION ACT

- Employees must receive their final compensation, including earned wages, vacation pay, commissions and bonuses on their next regularly scheduled payday.
- Unauthorized deductions from paychecks are not allowed except as specified by law.
- Employers must reimburse employees for all necessary expenditures or losses incurred by an employee during the scope of employment and related to services performed for the employer. Employee must submit reimbursement request within 30 calendar days unless an employer policy allows for additional time to submit.
- Employer must provide an employee with a paystub for every pay period.

Hotline: 1-312-793-2808

Meal & Rest Periods

ONE DAY REST IN SEVEN ACT

Provides employees with 24 consecutive hours of rest within every seven (7) consecutive day period.

- Employers may obtain permits from the Department allowing employees to voluntarily work seven consecutive days.
- Employees working 7 1/2 continuous hours must be allowed a meal period of at least 20 minutes no later than 5 hours after the start of work, and an additional 20 minutes if working a 12 hour shift or longer.
- Employees must be afforded reasonable bathroom breaks.

Hotline: 1-312-793-2804

Violent Crime Victims' Leave

Provides employees who are victims of domestic, gender, or sexual violence, or other crimes of violence, or who have family members who are victims with up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave during a 12-month period.

 Effective 1/1/24: Employees with employers of any size are entitled to 2 additional weeks unpaid leave for reasons relating to a family or household member's death due to a crime of violence to be completed within 60 days after the date employee received notice of the death of the victim.

Hotline: 1-312-793-2800

Paid Leave

REQUIRES PAID LEAVE FOR ANY REASON

- **Workers:** Earn up to 40 hours of paid leave from work per year.
- Use: Workers can use paid leave for any reason of their choosing. Employers may not require workers to provide a reason for their paid leave request.
- Accrual: Workers earn 1 hour of paid leave for every 40 hours they work. Employers may also provide workers with all paid leave hours at the start of the 12-month period (frontloading).
- Carryover: Workers rollover all unused accrued paid leave at the end of the year. Any unused frontloaded leave does not have to be carried over.
- Retaliation is prohibited: Penalties may apply to employers that take adverse action against workers who exercise their rights under this law.

Existing Policy and Exclusions

Certain exceptions may apply for employers who already provide their workers with paid leave. There are also certain categories of workers that are not covered by the law.

Hotline: 312-793-2600

Equal Pay Act

Requires employers to pay equal wages to men and women doing the same or substantially similar work, unless such wage differences are based upon a seniority system, a merit system, or factors other than gender.

- Employers and employment agencies are banned from asking applicants past wage and compensation histories
- Employees may disclose or discuss their own salaries, benefits, and other compensation with their co-workers and colleagues.
- Employers are not allowed to pay less to African American employees versus non- African American employees
- Certain employees at large businesses may request wage/salary history for their job title from IDOL.
- Employers that publish job postings must include that position's pay and benefits if an individual works in Illinois or, if working remotely out of state, reports to a supervisor or work location in Illinois.

Hotline: 1-866-372-4365



For more information or to file a complaint, contact the Department at:

524 South 2nd St, Suite 400, Springfield, IL 62701 (217) 782-6206 160 N. LaSalle, St, Suite C-1300, Chicago, IL 60601 (312) 793-2800 2309 W. Main Street, Suite 115 Marion, IL 62959 (618) 993-7090 For a complete text of the laws, visit our website: www.labor.illinois.gov

THIS NOTICE MUST BE DISPLAYED IN A CONSPICUOUS PLACE ON THE PREMISES OF THE EMPLOYER WHERE OTHER NOTICES ARE POSTED.

WORKERS' COMPENSATION



is a system of benefits provided by law to most workers who have job-related injuries or illnesses. Benefits are paid for injuries that are caused, in whole or in part, by an employee's work. This may include the aggravation of a pre-existing condition, injuries brought on by the repetitive use of a part of the body, heart attacks, or any other physical problem caused by work. Benefits are paid regardless of fault.

IF YOU HAVE A WORK-RELATED INJURY OR ILLNESS, TAKE THE FOLLOWING STEPS:

- 1. GET MEDICAL ASSISTANCE. By law, your employer must pay for all necessary medical services required to cure or relieve the effects of the injury or illness. Where necessary, the employer must also pay for physical, mental, or vocational rehabilitation, within prescribed limits. The employee may choose two physicians, surgeons, or hospitals. If the employer notifies you that it has an approved Preferred Provider Program for workers' compensation, the PPP counts as one of your two choices of providers.
- **2. NOTIFY YOUR EMPLOYER.** You must notify your employer of the accidental injury or illness within 45 days, either orally or in writing. To avoid possible delays, it is recommended the notice also include your name, address, telephone number, Social Security number, and a brief description of the injury or illness.
- **3. LEARN YOUR RIGHTS.** Your employer is required by law to report accidents that result in more than three lost work days to the Workers' Compensation Commission. Once the accident is reported, you should receive a handbook that explains the law, benefits, and procedures. If you need a handbook, please call the Commission or go to the Web site.
 - If you must lose time from work to recover from the injury or illness, you may be entitled to receive weekly payments and necessary medical care until you are able to return to work that is reasonably available to you.
 - It is against the law for an employer to harass, discharge, refuse to rehire or in any way discriminate against an employee for exercising his or her rights under the Workers' Compensation or Occupational Diseases Acts. If you file a fraudulent claim, you may be penalized under the law.
- **4. KEEP WITHIN THE TIME LIMITS.** Generally, claims must be filed within three years of the injury or disablement from an occupational disease, or within two years of the last workers' compensation payment, whichever is later. Claims for pneumoconiosis, radiological exposure, asbestosis, or similar diseases have special requirements.
 - Injured workers have the right to reopen their case within 30 months after an award is made if the disability increases, but cases that are resolved by a lump-sum settlement contract approved by the Commission cannot be reopened. Only settlements approved by the Commission are binding.

For more information, go to the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission's Web site or call any office:

Toll-free: 866/352-3033	Chicago:	312/814-6611	Peoria:	309/671-3019	Springfield:	217/785-7087
Web site: www.iwcc.il.gov	Collinsville:	618/346-3450	Rockford:	815/987-7292	TDD (Deaf):	312/814-2959

BY LAW, EMPLOYERS MUST DISPLAY THIS NOTICE IN A PROMINENT PLACE IN EACH WORKPLACE AND COMPLETE THE INFORMATION BELOW. Party handling workers' compensation claims Business address Business phone Effective date Policy number Employer's FEIN

Illinois Department of Employment Security

TICE to workers about Unemployment Insurance Benefits

THE POSTING OF THIS NOTICE IS REQUIRED BY THE ILLINOIS UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ACT.

FILING A CLAIM

The Illinois Unemployment Insurance Act provides for the payment of benefits to eligible unemployed workers and for the collection of employer contributions from liable employers. It is designed to provide living expenses while new employment is sought. Claims should be filed as soon as possible after separation from employment. Claims can be filed online at **www.ides.illinois.gov** or at the nearest Illinois Department of Employment Security office to the worker's home. To be eligible for benefits, an unemployed individual must be available for work, able to work and actively seeking work and, in addition, must not be disqualified under any provisions of the Illinois Unemployment Insurance Act.

Each employer shall deliver the pamphlet "What Every Worker Should Know About Unemployment Insurance" to each worker separated from employment for an expected duration of seven or more days. The pamphlet shall be delivered to the worker at the time of separation or, if delivery is impracticable, mailed within five days after the date of the separation to the worker's last known address. Pamphlets shall be supplied by the Illinois Department of Employment Security to each employer without cost.

A claimant may also be entitled to receive, in addition to the weekly benefit amount, an allowance for a non-working spouse or a dependent child or children. The allowance is a percentage of the average weekly wage of the claimant in his or her base period. The weekly benefit amount plus any allowance for a dependent make up the total amount payable.

If, during a calendar week an employee does not work full-time because of lack of work, he or she may be eligible for partial benefits if the wages earned in such calendar week are less than his or her weekly benefit amount. For any such week, employers should provide employees with a statement of "low earnings" which should be taken to their Illinois Department of Employment Security office.

NOTE: Illinois unemployment insurance benefits are paid from a trust fund to which only employers contribute. No deductions may be made from the wages of workers for this purpose.

Unemployment insurance information is available from any Illinois Department of Employment Security office. To locate the office nearest you, call 1-800-244-5631 or access the locations though our website at **www.ides.illinois.gov**.

BENEFITS

Every claimant who files a new claim for unemployment insurance benefits must serve an unpaid waiting week for which he has filed and is otherwise eligible.

The claimant's weekly benefit amount is usually a percentage of the worker's average weekly wage. The worker's average weekly wage is computed by dividing the wages paid during the two highest quarters of the base period by 26. The maximum weekly benefit amount is a percentage of the statewide average weekly wage. The minimum weekly benefit amount is \$51. The statewide average weekly wage is calculated each year.

If Your Benefit Year Begins:	Your Base Period Will Be:		
This year between:	Last year between:		
Jan. 1 and March 31	Jan. 1 and Sept. 30 and the year before between Oct. 1 and Dec. 31		
This year between:	Last year between:		
April 1 and June 30	Jan. 1 and Dec. 31		
This year between:	Last year between:		
July 1 and Sept. 30	April 1 and Dec. 31 and this year between Jan. 1 and March 31		
This year between:	Last year between:		
Oct. 1 and Dec. 31	July 1 and Dec. 31 and this year between Jan. 1 and June 30		

In order to be monetarily eligible, a claimant must be paid a minimum of \$1,600 during the base period with at least \$440 of that amount being paid outside the highest calendar quarter.

If you have been awarded temporary total disability benefits under a workers' compensation act or other similar acts, or if you only have worked within the last few months, your base period may be determined differently. Contact your local IDES office for more information.

REPORTING TIPS

Each employee who receives tips must report these tips to employers on a written statement or on Form UC-51, "Employee's Report of Tips," in duplicate. Employers can furnish this form on request. The report shall be submitted on the day the wages are paid, or not later than the next payday, and shall include the amount of tips received during the pay period.

TAXATION OF BENEFITS

Unemployment insurance benefits are taxable if you are required to file a state or federal income tax return. You may choose to have federal and/or Illinois state income tax withheld from your weekly benefits. Since benefits are not subject to mandatory income tax withholding, if you do not choose to withhold, you may be required to make estimated tax payments using Internal Revenue Service Form 1040 ES and Illinois Department of Revenue Form IL 1040 ES.

For additional information, call these toll-free numbers: Internal Revenue Service 1-800-829-1040. Illinois Department of Revenue 1-800-732-8866.









Job Safety and Health IT'S THE LAW!

Required Posting for State and Local Government Employers

EMPLOYEES:

- You have the right to a safe workplace.
- You have the right to raise a safety or health concern with your employer or confidentially with IL-OSHA.
- You have the right to request an IL-OSHA inspection if you believe there are unsafe or unhealthy conditions.
- You have the right to participate in an IL-OSHA inspection and speak privately to the inspector.
- You have the right to see IL-OSHA citations issued to your employer.
- You must comply with all standards under the Illinois Occupational Safety and Health Act that applies to your own actions and conduct on the job.
- You can file a complaint with IL-OSHA within 30 days if you have been retaliated against for exercising your rights under the Act.
- You have the right to copies of your medical records and records of your exposures to toxic and harmful substances or conditions.

EMPLOYERS:

- Must furnish employees a workplace free from recognized hazards.
- Must comply with all applicable standards under the Illinois Occupational Safety and Health Act.
- Must prominently display this poster in the workplace as well as all notices and all official correspondence received by IL-OSHA.
- Must post any citations issued by IL-OSHA at or near the place of the alleged violation(s).
- Must correct workplace hazards by the date indicated on the citation and must certify that the hazards have been abated.
- Must maintain records of work-related injuries and illnesses. Employers must post the previous year annual summary (OSHA 300A) from February 1 until April 30.
- NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENT: Employers must orally report any work-related fatalities within 8 hours, and any inpatient hospitalization, amputation, or loss of an eye within 24 hours by calling 217-782-7860. This is a 24/7 hotline.

The Illinois Occupational Safety and Health Act [820 ILCS 219] provides job safety and health protection for employees of state and local government agencies. The Illinois State Plan is a developmental plan partially funded by a federal grant. Any concerns regarding the administration of the Illinois State Plan can be forwarded to the OSHA Region V Office: Federal Building, 230 South Dearborn Street, Room 3244, Chicago, IL 60604. Phone: 312-353-2220.





labor.illinois.gov 160 N. LaSalle Street, C-1300 Chicago, IL 60601 (312) 793-7308 Fax: (312) 793-2081



OSHA.illinois.gov 524 S. 2nd Street, Suite 400 Springfield, IL 62701 (217) 782-9386 dol.safety@illinois.gov Free Safety & Health Consultation Services



worksafe.illinois.gov 524 S. 2nd Street, Suite 400 Springfield, IL 62701 1-800-972-4216 dol.consultation@illinois.gov



Emergency Care for

CHOKING

CONSCIOUS VICTIM

If victim CAN breathe, cough or make sounds, DO NOT INTERFERE.

Give quick upward
thrusts above the
belly button and
below the ribs until
object is forced out,
victim can breathe
again, or victim
becomes unconscious

If victim CANNOT breathe, cough or make sounds, ask if you can help.



UNCONSCIOUS VICTIM

Send someone to call 911 and get the Automated External Defibrillator (AED). **IF YOU ARE ALONE**, perform 5 sets of 30 compressions and 2 breaths before leaving to call 911. Follow these steps.



Give 30 compressions pushing down AT LEAST 2 inches on the center of the chest Place one hand on top of the other. Push hard.



Open the airway and check the mouth for objects. Remove the obstructing object only if you see it.



With the airway open, attempt to give TWO breaths. If unsuccessful, return to compressions.

Repeat steps 1, 2 and 3 until victim starts breathing or until emergency medical help arrives.

Illinois Department of Public Health

Emergency Medical Systems and Highway Safety 422 S. 5th St., Third Floor Springfield, IL 62701 • 217-785-2080

Standards for CPR and ECC are consistent with American Heart Association recommendations.

- ety
- Have someone call for an ambulance, rescue squad or EMS.
- DO NOT PRACTICE ON PEOPLE. Abdominal thrusts may cause injury.
- Use back blows and chest thrust on infants. Use chest thrust on pregnant women and obese victims.
- For children 1 to 8 years of age, compress at the depth of approximately 2 inches.
- Learn to perform emergency care for choking and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).
- For CPR training information, call your local American Heart Association or American Red Cross chapter.



NO SMOKING or E-CIGARETTE USE



Indoors or Within 15 Feet of Entrance

To submit a complaint:



www.smoke-free.illinois.gov

866-973-4646

TTY 800-547-0466 (hearing impaired use only)



Smoke-Free Illinois Act (410 ILCS 82), amended by Public Act 103-0272.





and your RIGHTS in the WORKPLACE

Are you pregnant, recovering from childbirth, or do you have a medical or common condition related to pregnancy?

If so, you have the right to:

- Ask your employer for a reasonable accommodation for your pregnancy, such as more frequent bathroom breaks, assistance with heavy work, a private space for expressing milk, or time off to recover from your pregnancy.
- Reject an unsolicited accommodation offered by your employer for your pregnancy.
- Continue working during your pregnancy if a reasonable accommodation is available which would allow you to continue performing your job.

Your employer cannot:

- · Discriminate against you because of your pregnancy.
- Retaliate against you because you requested a reasonable accommodation

PREGNANCY and your RIGHTS in the WORKPLACE

It is illegal for your employer to fire you, refuse to hire you or to refuse to provide you with a reasonable accommodation because of your pregnancy. For more information regarding your rights, download the Illinois Department of Human Rights' fact sheet from our website at **dhr.illinois.gov**

Es ilegal que su empleador la despida, se niegue a contratarla o a proporcionarle una adaptación razonable a causa de su embarazo. Para obtener información sobre el embarazo y sus derechos en el lugar de trabajo en español, visite dhr.illinois.gov



For immediate help or if you have questions, call (312) 814-6200 or (217) 785-5100 or (866) 740-3953 (TTY)

CHICAGO

555 West Monroe St. Suite 700, Intake Unit Chicago, IL 60661 (312) 814-6200

SPRINGFIFI D

524 S. 2nd St. Suite 300, Intake Unit Springfield, IL 62701 (217) 785-5100

Learn more, contact IDHR, or initiate a charge at:

https://dhr.illinois.gov

Victims of slavery and human trafficking

are protected under United States and Illinois law

If you or someone you know:

- Is being forced to engage in any activity and cannot leave, whether it is:
 - Commercial sex industry (street prostitution, strip clubs, massage parlors, escort services, brothels, internet),
 - Private Homes (housework, nannies, servile marriages),
 - Farm work, landscaping, construction,
 - Factory (industrial, garment, meat-packing),
 - Peddling rings, begging rings, or door-to-door sales crews
 - Hotel, retail, bars, restaurant work or
 - Any other activity
- Had their passport or identification taken away or
- Is being threatened with deportation if they won't work

National Human Trafficking Resource Center

1-888-373-7888

Or Text "HELP" to 233733 to access help and services.

The hotline is:

- Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
- Toll-free.
- Operated by nonprofit nongovernmental organizations.
- Anonymous and confidential.
- Accessible in more than 160 languages.
- Able to provide help, referral to services, training, and general information.

For more information: www.TraffickingResourceCenter.org









Las víctimas de esclavitud y trata de personas están protegidas bajo las leyes de Estados Unidos y de Illinois

Si usted o alguien que usted conoce:

- Es forzado a participar en cualquier actividad y no puede dejarla, ya sea de:
 - La industria del sexo comercial (prostitución callejera, clubes, salas de masaje, servicios de acompañante, burdeles, Internet)
 - Residencias privadas (trabajo doméstico, cuidado de niños, matrimonios serviles)
 - Trabajo en fincas, jardinería, construcción.
 - Fábricas (industrial, textil, empacado de carnes).
 - Grupos de venta ambulante, limosneros o grupos de ventas calleieras
 - Hoteles, tiendas, bares, trabajo en restaurantes o
 - Cualquier otra actividad.
- Le quitaron su pasaporte u otra forma de identificación.
- Le amenazan con deportación si rehúsa trabajar.

Centro Nacional de Recursos Para la Trata de Personas

1-888-373-7888

O para acceso a servicios y ayuda, envíe un texto con la palabra "HELP" al 233733

La línea:

- Está disponible las 24 horas del día, los 7 días de la semana.
- Es gratis
- Está operada por organizaciones no gubernamentales sin fines de lucro.
- Es anónima y confidencial.
- Está disponible en más de 160 idiomas diferentes.
- Puede brindar ayuda, recomendar otros servicios, proveer adiestramiento e información general.

Para más información: www.TraffickingResourceCenter.org







YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE FREE FROM JOB DISCRIMINATION AND SEXUAL HARASSMENT.



The Illinois Human Rights Act states that you have **the right to be free from unlawful discrimination and sexual harassment**. This means that employers may not treat people differently based on race, age, gender, pregnancy, disability, sexual orientation or any other protected class named in the Act. This applies to all employer actions, including hiring, promotion, discipline and discharge.

REASONABLE ACCOMMODATIONS

You also have the right to reasonable accommodations based on pregnancy and disability. This means you can ask for reasonable changes to your job if needed because you are pregnant or disabled.

RETALIATION

It is also unlawful for employers to treat people differently because they have reported discrimination, participated in an investigation, or helped others exercise their right to complain about discrimination.

REPORT DISCRIMINATION

To report discrimination, you may:

- 1. Contact your employer's human resources or personnel department.
- 2. Contact the Illinois Department of Human Rights (IDHR) to file a charge.
- Call the Illinois Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Helpline at 1-877-236-7703 to talk to someone about your concerns.

Chicago:

555 W Monroe Street, 7th Floor Chicago, IL 60661 (312) 814-6200 (866) 740-3953 (TTY)

(312) 814-6251 (Fax)

Springfield: 524 S. 2nd St., Suite 300 Springfield, IL 62701

(217) 785-5100

(866) 740-3953 (TTY) (217) 785-5106 (Fax)

Website: dhr.illinois.gov

Email: IDHR.Intake@illinois.gov

YOUR RIGHTS UNDER THE ILLINOIS SERVICE MEMBER EMPLOYMENT & REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS ACT (330 ILCS 61)



ISERRA (Illinois version of USERRA) protects the employment and benefits of service members who leave their civilian employment to serve our Nation or State.

In order to protect the common public interest in military service, it is the role of the Illinois Attorney General to promote awareness and ensure compliance with ISERRA by providing information, training, advocacy, and enforcement.

WHO IS PROTECTED?

- 1. All members of the Armed Forces of the United States whether active duty or reserve, including the National Guard when performing State duty.
- 2. All members of Military Auxiliary Radio System, United States Coast Guard Reserve, Civil Air Patrol, and the Merchant Marines when performing official duties in support of an emergency.
- 3. Members who are released from military duty with follow-on care by the Department of Defense.

WHAT ARE THE RIGHTS, BENEFITS AND OBLIGATIONS UNDER ISERRA?

ISERRA provides the same protections as USERRA (i.e., reemployment, benefits and discrimination) but expands protections to persons identified above and incorporates existing benefits to service members who are public employees. Because ISERRA represents the minimum employer requirements, employers maintain the right to provide greater benefits at their discretion.

WHO ENFORCES ISERRA?

The ISERRA Advocate is an Assistant Attorney General appointed by the Illinois Attorney General to provide both advocacy and enforcement under ISERRA.

WHERE TO FIND MORE INFORMATION?

Both service members and employers can find more information on the Attorney General's ISERRA Advocate webpage at https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/rights-of-the-people/military-and-veterans-rights/ or call the Military & Veterans Rights Helpline at **1-800-382-3000** to ask questions or request training.



This notice is available for download on the Attorney General's website by going to https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/rights-of-the-people/military-and-veterans-rights/. Employers are required to provide employees entitled to rights and benefits under ISERRA a notice of the rights, benefits, and obligations of service member employees. This requirement may be met by the posting of this notice where employers customarily place notices for employees. ISERRA is codified as Public Act 100-1101 and can be found at www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/100/PDF/100-1101.pdf.







Victims' Economic Security and Safety Act (VESSA)

REQUIRED NOTICE FOR EMPLOYERS

VESSA provides employees who are victims of domestic violence, sexual violence, gender violence, or any other crime of violence, and employees who have a family or household member who is a victim of such violence, with unpaid, job-guaranteed leave; reasonable accommodations; and protections from discrimination and retaliation.

This time may be used if the employee or the employee's family or household member is:

- Experiencing an incident of domestic violence, sexual violence, gender violence, or any other crime of violence
- · Recovering from the violence;
- Seeking or receiving medical help, legal assistance (including participation in legal proceedings), counseling, safety planning, or other assistance;
- · Temporarily or permanently relocating;
- Taking other actions to increase the safety of the victim from future domestic, sexual, or gender violence, or any other crime of violence, or to ensure economic security.
- Attending the funeral or alternative to a funeral if death is caused by crime of violence;
- · Making arrangements necessitated by a death caused by a crime of violence; or
- Grieving a death caused by a crime of violence.

NOTICE AND CERTIFICATION Employees must provide the employer with at least 48 hours prior notice, unless providing advance notice is not practicable. If an employee is unable to provide advance notice, an employee must provide notice when an employee is able to do so, within a reasonable period of time after the absence.

Certification may be provided by a sworn statement of the employee and upon obtaining such other documentation the employee shall provide one of the following:

- Documentation from an employee, agent or volunteer of a victim services organization, an attorney, a member of the clergy, or medical or other professional assisting in addressing the violence;
- A police, court, or military record;
- · A death certificate, published obituary, or written verification of death, burial, or memorial services, or
- Other corroborating evidence.

DURATION OF LEAVE Effective January 1, 2024, employees with employers of any size are entitled to 2 additional weeks (would be additional leave to what the chart below shows) unpaid leave for reasons relating to certain family or household member's death due to a crime of violence to be completed within 60 days after the date employee received notice of the death of the victim.

Leave permitted during a 12-month period under the act based on number of employees:

Number of employees

1-14 employees 15-49 employees 50 or more employees Leave permitted

4 weeks 8 weeks 12 weeks

Leave may be taken consecutively, intermittently, or on a reduced work schedule basis.

For information on filing a complaint please call: **312-793-6797** or visit the website: <u>labor.illinois.gov/vessa</u>

ACCOMMODATIONS VESSA provides that employees are entitled to reasonable accommodations to address the needs of the victim(s). Accommodations include, but are not limited to, an adjustment to the job structure, workplace facility, work requirements, or telephone number, seating assignment, or physical security of the work area.

DISCRIMINATION AND RETALIATION VESSA prohibits employers from discriminating, retaliating, or otherwise treating an employee or job applicant unfavorably if the individual involved:

- Is or is perceived to be a victim of domestic, sexual, or gender violence, or any other crime of violence;
- Attended, participated in, prepared for, or requested leave to attend, participate in, or prepare for a
 criminal or civil court or administrative proceeding relating to domestic, sexual, or gender violence, or any
 other crime of violence;
- Requested or took VESSA leave for any reason;
- Requested an accommodation, regardless of whether the accommodation was granted;
- The workplace is disrupted or threatened by the action of a person whom the individual states has committed or threatened to commit domestic, sexual, or gender violence, or any other crime of violence, against the individual or the individual's family or household member; or
- Exercised any other rights under VESSA.

CONFIDENTIALITY Employers must maintain the confidentiality of all information pertaining to the use of VESSA leave, notice of an employee's intention to take VESSA leave, and certification provided by the employee.

labor.illinois.gov • DOL.Questions@lllinois.gov

Lincoln Tower Plaza

524 South 2nd Street, Suite 400 Springfield, Illinois 62701 (217) 782-6206 Fax: (217) 782-0596

Michael A Bilandic Building

160 North LaSalle, Suite C-1300 Chicago, Illinois 60601-3150 (312) 793-2800 Fax: (312) 793-5257

Regional Office Building

2309 West Main Street, Suite 115 Marion, Illinois 62959 (618) 993-7090 Fax: (618) 993-7258



Pay Transparency Updates to the Illinois Equal Pay Act of 2003

Employers with Pay Transparency Requirements

Any employer with 15 or more employees who, after January 1, 2025, publishes a job posting for a specific employment opportunity is required to include pay and benefits information in the job posting **IF** the work is to be performed:

- Physically in Illinois, at least in part OR
- Outside Illinois, but reporting to an Illinois supervisor, office, or work site.

Opportunity for Promotion

When an employer with 15 or more employees chooses to publish a specific job posting externally, such as on a job board or website, then the employer must also inform all current employees of the job opportunity.

 Please note that this requirement only applies for jobs to be performed at least in part in Illinois, or outside Illinois but reporting to an Illinois supervisor, office, or work site.

Required Information

Wage or salary (or a defined pay range) and general description of benefits for the position advertised.

Employers may include a hyperlink to a
publicly viewable web page that includes
pay and benefits, so long as it gives pay
and benefits for the specific position.

Complaints

A person may file a complaint about pay transparency or promotional opportunity in job postings within one year of the violation.

To file a complaint, visit labor.illinois.gov/pay

Retaliation

An employer or an employment agency shall not refuse to interview, hire, promote, or employ, and shall not otherwise retaliate against, an applicant for employment or an employee for exercising any rights under subsection.

Penalties

An employer may have to pay penalties if, after investigation, the Department finds that they have violated these requirements.





Phone: (312) 793-6797

Email: DOL.EqualPay@illinois.gov **Website:** Labor.Illinois.gov/pay

PAID LEAVE FOR ALL WORKERS ACT NOTICE

Employers must provide employees with up to 40 hours of paid leave for any reason.

Paid Leave

- Workers: Earn up to five (5) days per year of paid leave from work.
- Use: Workers can use paid leave for any reason of their choosing. Employers cannot require workers to provide a reason for their time off request. Employers may not require, as a condition of taking leave, that the employee search for a replacement worker.
- Accrual: Workers earn 1 hour of paid leave for every 40 hours they work.
- Carryover: Workers rollover all unused paid leave at the end of the year.



Penalties may apply to employers that take adverse action against workers who exercise their rights under this law.

Penalties

Workers may recover the amount they should have been paid for the leave, penalties, and other equitable relief.

Filing a Complaint

A worker may file a complaint with the Illinois Department of Labor alleging a violation of this Act by filling out a complaint form at labor.illinois.gov/paidleave.

Existing Policy and Exclusions

Certain exceptions may apply for employers who already provide their workers with paid leave. There are also certain categories of workers that are not covered by the law.

See QR code for more information on how to file a complaint and applicable exceptions to the law.



For a complete text of the laws, visit our website at:

www.labor.illinois.gov

For more information or to file a Complaint, contact us at:

DOL.PaidLeave@illinois.gov

THIS NOTICE MUST BE DISPLAYED IN A CONSPICUOUS PLACE ON THE PREMISES OF THE EMPLOYER WHERE OTHER NOTICES ARE POSTED.

EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

UNDER THE FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT

FEDERAL MINIMUM WAGE

\$7.25 PER HOUR

BEGINNING JULY 24, 2009

The law requires employers to display this poster where employees can readily see it.

OVERTIME PAY

At least 1½ times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek.

CHILD LABOR

An employee must be at least 16 years old to work in most non-farm jobs and at least 18 to work in non-farm jobs declared hazardous by the Secretary of Labor. Youths 14 and 15 years old may work outside school hours in various non-manufacturing, non-mining, non-hazardous jobs with certain work hours restrictions. Different rules apply in agricultural employment.

TIP CREDIT

Employers of "tipped employees" who meet certain conditions may claim a partial wage credit based on tips received by their employees. Employers must pay tipped employees a cash wage of at least \$2.13 per hour if they claim a tip credit against their minimum wage obligation. If an employee's tips combined with the employer's cash wage of at least \$2.13 per hour do not equal the minimum hourly wage, the employer must make up the difference.

PUMP AT WORK

The FLSA requires employers to provide reasonable break time for a nursing employee to express breast milk for their nursing child for one year after the child's birth each time the employee needs to express breast milk. Employers must provide a place, other than a bathroom, that is shielded from view and free from intrusion from coworkers and the public, which may be used by the employee to express breast milk.

ENFORCEMENT

The Department has authority to recover back wages and an equal amount in liquidated damages in instances of minimum wage, overtime, and other violations. The Department may litigate and/or recommend criminal prosecution. Employers may be assessed civil money penalties for each willful or repeated violation of the minimum wage or overtime pay provisions of the law. Civil money penalties may also be assessed for violations of the FLSA's child labor provisions. Heightened civil money penalties may be assessed for each child labor violation that results in the death or serious injury of any minor employee, and such assessments may be doubled when the violations are determined to be willful or repeated. The law also prohibits retaliating against or discharging workers who file a complaint or participate in any proceeding under the FLSA.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

- Certain occupations and establishments are exempt from the minimum wage, and/or overtime pay provisions. Certain narrow exemptions also apply to the pump at work requirements.
- Special provisions apply to workers in American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.
- Some state laws provide greater employee protections; employers must comply with both.
- Some employers incorrectly classify workers as "independent contractors" when they are
 actually employees under the FLSA. It is important to know the difference between the two
 because employees (unless exempt) are entitled to the FLSA's minimum wage and overtime
 pay protections and correctly classified independent contractors are not.
- Certain full-time students, student learners, apprentices, and workers with disabilities may be paid less than the minimum wage under special certificates issued by the Department of Labor.





WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION



Know Your Rights: Workplace Discrimination is Illegal

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) enforces Federal laws that protect you from discrimination in employment. If you believe you've been discriminated against at work or in applying for a job, the EEOC may be able to help.

Who is Protected?

- Employees (current and former), including managers and temporary employees
- Job applicants
- Union members and applicants for membership in a union

What Organizations are Covered?

- Most private employers
- State and local governments (as employers)
- Educational institutions (as employers)
- Unions
- Staffing agencies

What Types of Employment Discrimination are Illegal?

Under the EEOC's laws, an employer may not discriminate against you, regardless of your immigration status, on the bases of:

- Race
- Color
- Religion
- National origin
- Sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, and related medical conditions, sexual orientation, or gender identity)
- Age (40 and older)
- Disability
- Genetic information (including employer requests for, or purchase, use, or

- disclosure of genetic tests, genetic services, or family medical history)
- Retaliation for filing a charge, reasonably opposing discrimination, or participating in a discrimination lawsuit, investigation, or proceeding
- Interference, coercion, or threats related to exercising rights regarding disability discrimination or pregnancy accommodation

What Employment Practices can be Challenged as Discriminatory?

All aspects of employment, including:

- Discharge, firing, or lay-off
- Harassment (including unwelcome verbal or physical conduct)
- · Hiring or promotion
- Assignment
- Pay (unequal wages or compensation)
- Failure to provide reasonable accommodation for a disability; pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical condition; or a sincerely-held religious belief, observance or practice
- Benefits
- Job training
- Classification
- Referral

- Obtaining or disclosing genetic information of employees
- Requesting or disclosing medical information of employees
- Conduct that might reasonably discourage someone from opposing discrimination, filing a charge, or participating in an investigation or proceeding
- Conduct that coerces, intimidates, threatens, or interferes with someone exercising their rights, or someone assisting or encouraging someone else to exercise rights, regarding disability discrimination (including accommodation) or pregnancy accommodation

What can You Do if You Believe Discrimination has Occurred?

Contact the EEOC promptly if you suspect discrimination. Do not delay, because there are strict time limits for filing a charge of discrimination (180 or 300 days, depending on where you live/work). You can reach the EEOC in any of the following ways:

Submit an inquiry through the EEOC's public portal: <u>https://publicportal.eeoc.gov/Portal/Login.aspx</u>

Call 1–800–669–4000 (toll free)

1-800-669-6820 (TTY)

1-844-234-5122 (ASL video phone)

Visit an EEOC field office (information at www.eeoc.gov/field-office)

E-Mail info@eeoc.gov

Additional information about the EEOC, including information about filing a charge of discrimination, is available at www.eeoc.gov.



EMPLOYERS HOLDING FEDERAL CONTRACTS OR SUBCONTRACTS

The Department of Labor's Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP) enforces the nondiscrimination and affirmative action commitments of companies doing business with the Federal Government. If you are applying for a job with, or are an employee of, a company with a Federal contract or subcontract, you are protected under Federal law from discrimination on the following bases:

Race, Color, Religion, Sex, Sexual Orientation, Gender Identity, National Origin

Executive Order 11246, as amended, prohibits employment discrimination by Federal contractors based on race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, or national origin, and requires affirmative action to ensure equality of opportunity in all aspects of employment.

Asking About, Disclosing, or Discussing Pay

Executive Order 11246, as amended, protects applicants and employees of Federal contractors from discrimination based on inquiring about, disclosing, or discussing their compensation or the compensation of other applicants or employees.

Disability

Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, protects qualified individuals with disabilities from discrimination in hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job training, classification, referral, and other aspects of employment by Federal contractors. Disability discrimination includes not making reasonable accommodation to the known physical or mental limitations of an otherwise qualified individual with a disability who is an applicant or employee, barring undue hardship to the employer. Section 503 also requires that Federal contractors take affirmative action to employ and advance in employment qualified individuals with disabilities at all levels of employment, including the executive level.

Protected Veteran Status

The Vietnam Era Veterans' Readjustment Assistance Act of 1974, as amended, 38 U.S.C. 4212, prohibits employment discrimination against, and requires affirmative action to recruit, employ, and advance in employment, disabled veterans, recently separated veterans (i.e., within three years of discharge or release from active duty), active duty wartime or campaign badge veterans, or Armed Forces service medal veterans.

Retaliation

Retaliation is prohibited against a person who files a complaint of discrimination, participates in an OFCCP proceeding, or otherwise opposes discrimination by Federal contractors under these Federal laws.

Any person who believes a contractor has violated its nondiscrimination or affirmative action obligations under OFCCP's authorities should contact immediately:

The Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP) U.S. Department of Labor 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20210 1–800–397–6251 (toll-free)

If you are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability, please dial 7–1–1 to access telecommunications relay services. OFCCP may also be contacted by submitting a question online to OFCCP's Help Desk at https://ofccphelpdesk.dol.gov/s/, or by calling an OFCCP regional or district office, listed in most telephone directories under U.S. Government, Department of Labor and on OFCCP's "Contact Us" webpage at https://www.dol.gov/agencies/ofccp/contact.

PROGRAMS OR ACTIVITIES RECEIVING FEDERAL FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE

Race, Color, National Origin, Sex

In addition to the protections of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color or national origin in programs or activities receiving Federal financial assistance. Employment discrimination is covered by Title VI if the primary objective of the financial assistance is provision of employment, or where employment discrimination causes or may cause discrimination in providing services under such programs. Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 prohibits employment discrimination on the basis of sex in educational programs or activities which receive Federal financial assistance.

Individuals with Disabilities

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, prohibits employment discrimination on the basis of disability in any program or activity which receives Federal financial assistance. Discrimination is prohibited in all aspects of employment against persons with disabilities who, with or without reasonable accommodation, can perform the essential functions of the job.

If you believe you have been discriminated against in a program of any institution which receives Federal financial assistance, you should immediately contact the Federal agency providing such assistance.



Job Safety and Health IT'S THE LAW!

All workers have the right to:

- A safe workplace.
- Raise a safety or health concern with your employer or OSHA, or report a workrelated injury or illness, without being retaliated against.
- Receive information and training on job hazards, including all hazardous substances in your workplace.
- Request a confidential OSHA inspection of your workplace if you believe there are unsafe or unhealthy conditions. You have the right to have a representative contact OSHA on your behalf.
- Participate (or have your representative participate) in an OSHA inspection and speak in private to the inspector.
- File a complaint with OSHA within 30 days (by phone, online or by mail) if you have been retaliated against for using your rights.
- See any OSHA citations issued to your employer.
- Request copies of your medical records, tests that measure hazards in the workplace, and the workplace injury and illness log.

This poster is available free from OSHA.

Contact OSHA. We can help.

Employers must:

- Provide employees a workplace free from recognized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate against an employee for using any of their rights under the law, including raising a health and safety concern with you or with OSHA, or reporting a work-related injury or illness.
- Comply with all applicable OSHA standards.
- Notify OSHA within 8 hours of a workplace fatality or within 24 hours of any work-related inpatient hospitalization, amputation, or loss of an eye.
- Provide required training to all workers in a language and vocabulary they can understand.
- Prominently display this poster in the workplace.
- Post OSHA citations at or near the place of the alleged violations.

On-Site Consultation services are available to small and medium-sized employers, without citation or penalty, through OSHA-supported consultation programs in every state.

















YOUR RIGHTS UNDER USERRA THE UNIFORMED SERVICES EMPLOYMENT AND REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS ACT

USERRA protects the job rights of individuals who voluntarily or involuntarily leave employment positions to undertake military service or certain types of service in the National Disaster Medical System. USERRA also prohibits employers from discriminating against past and present members of the uniformed services, and applicants to the uniformed services.

REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS

You have the right to be reemployed in your civilian job if you leave that job to perform service in the uniformed service and:

- you ensure that your employer receives advance written or verbal notice of your service;
- you have five years or less of cumulative service in the uniformed services while with that particular employer;
- you return to work or apply for reemployment in a timely manner after conclusion of service; and
- ☆ you have not been separated from service with a disqualifying discharge or under other than honorable conditions.

If you are eligible to be reemployed, you must be restored to the job and benefits you would have attained if you had not been absent due to military service or, in some cases, a comparable job.

RIGHT TO BE FREE FROM DISCRIMINATION AND RETALIATION

If you:

- ₩ are a past or present member of the uniformed service;
- have applied for membership in the uniformed service; or
- are obligated to serve in the uniformed service;

then an employer may not deny you:

- initial employment:
- ₩ reemployment;
- ☆ retention in employment;
- promotion; or
- any benefit of employment

because of this status.

In addition, an employer may not retaliate against anyone assisting in the enforcement of USERRA rights, including testifying or making a statement in connection with a proceeding under USERRA, even if that person has no service connection.

HEALTH INSURANCE PROTECTION

- If you leave your job to perform military service, you have the right to elect to continue your existing employer-based health plan coverage for you and your dependents for up to 24 months while in the military.
- Even if you don't elect to continue coverage during your military service, you have the right to be reinstated in your employer's health plan when you are reemployed, generally without any waiting periods or exclusions (e.g., pre-existing condition exclusions) except for service-connected illnesses or injuries.

ENFORCEMENT

- The U.S. Department of Labor, Veterans Employment and Training Service (VETS) is authorized to investigate and resolve complaints of USERRA violations.
- For assistance in filing a complaint, or for any other information on USERRA, contact VETS at 1-866-4-USA-DOL or visit its website at https://www.dol.gov/agencies/vets/. An interactive online USERRA Advisor can be viewed at https://webapps.dol.gov/elaws/vets/userra
- If you file a complaint with VETS and VETS is unable to resolve it, you may request that your case be referred to the Department of Justice or the Office of Special Counsel, as applicable, for representation.
- You may also bypass the VETS process and bring a civil action against an employer for violations of USERRA.

The rights listed here may vary depending on the circumstances. The text of this notice was prepared by VETS, and may be viewed on the internet at this address: https://www.dol.gov/agencies/vets/programs/userra/poster Federal law requires employers to notify employees of their rights under USERRA, and employers may meet this requirement by displaying the text of this notice where they customarily place notices for employees.







U.S. Department of Justice





Your Employee Rights Under the Family and Medical Leave Act

What is FMLA leave?

The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) is a federal law that provides eligible employees with **job-protected leave** for qualifying family and medical reasons. The U.S. Department of Labor's Wage and Hour Division (WHD) enforces the FMLA for most employees.

Eligible employees can take **up to 12 workweeks** of FMLA leave in a 12-month period for:

- The birth, adoption or foster placement of a child with you,
- Your serious mental or physical health condition that makes you unable to work,
- To care for your spouse, child or parent with a serious mental or physical health condition, and
- Certain qualifying reasons related to the foreign deployment of your spouse, child or parent who is a military servicemember.

An eligible employee who is the spouse, child, parent or next of kin of a covered servicemember with a serious injury or illness <u>may</u> take up to **26 workweeks** of FMLA leave in a single 12-month period to care for the servicemember.

You have the right to use FMLA leave in **one block of time**. When it is medically necessary or otherwise permitted, you may take FMLA leave **intermittently in separate blocks of time, or on a reduced schedule** by working less hours each day or week. Read Fact Sheet #28M(c) for more information.

FMLA leave is **not paid leave**, but you may choose, or be required by your employer, to use any employer-provided paid leave if your employer's paid leave policy covers the reason for which you need FMLA leave.

Am I eligible to take FMLA leave?

You are an $eligible\ employee$ if \underline{all} of the following apply:

- You work for a covered employer,
- You have worked for your employer at least 12 months,
- You have at least 1,250 hours of service for your employer during the 12 months before your leave, and
- Your employer has at least 50 employees within 75 miles of your work location.

Airline flight crew employees have different "hours of service" requirements.

You work for a **covered employer** if **one** of the following applies:

- You work for a private employer that had at least 50 employees during at least 20 workweeks in the current or previous calendar year,
- You work for an elementary or public or private secondary school, or
- You work for a public agency, such as a local, state or federal government agency. Most federal employees are covered by Title II of the FMLA, administered by the Office of Personnel Management.

How do I request FMLA leave?

Generally, to request FMLA leave you must:

- Follow your employer's normal policies for requesting leave,
- Give notice at least 30 days before your need for FMLA leave, or
- If advance notice is not possible, give notice as soon as possible.

You do <u>not</u> have to share a medical diagnosis but must provide enough information to your employer so they can determine whether the leave qualifies for FMLA protection. You <u>must</u> also inform your employer if **FMLA leave was previously taken** or approved for the same reason when requesting additional leave.

Your **employer** <u>may</u> request certification from a health care provider to verify medical leave and may request certification of a qualifying exigency.

The FMLA does not affect any federal or state law prohibiting discrimination or supersede any state or local law or collective bargaining agreement that provides greater family or medical leave rights.

State employees may be subject to certain limitations in pursuit of direct lawsuits regarding leave for their own serious health conditions. Most federal and certain congressional employees are also covered by the law but are subject to the jurisdiction of the U.S. Office of Personnel Management or Congress.

What does my employer need to do?

If you are eligible for FMLA leave, your **employer** <u>must</u>:

- Allow you to take job-protected time off work for a qualifying reason,
- Continue your group health plan coverage while you are on leave on the same basis as if you had not taken leave, and
- Allow you to return to the same job, or a virtually identical job with the same pay, benefits and other working conditions, including shift and location, at the end of your leave.

Your **employer** <u>cannot</u> interfere with your FMLA rights or threaten or punish you for exercising your rights under the law. For example, your employer cannot retaliate against you for requesting FMLA leave or cooperating with a WHD investigation.

After becoming aware that your need for leave is for a reason that may qualify under the FMLA, your **employer** <u>must</u> **confirm whether you are eligible** or not eligible for FMLA leave. If your employer determines that you are eligible, your **employer must notify you in writing**:

- About your FMLA rights and responsibilities, and
- How much of your requested leave, if any, will be FMLA-protected leave.

Where can I find more information?

Call 1-866-487-9243 or visit dol.gov/fmla to learn more.

If you believe your rights under the FMLA have been violated, you may file a complaint with WHD or file a private lawsuit against your employer in court. **Scan the QR code to learn about our WHD complaint process**.



WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR



EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

EMPLOYEE POLYGRAPH PROTECTION ACT

The Employee Polygraph Protection Act prohibits most private employers from using lie detector tests either for pre-employment screening or during the course of employment.

PROHIBITIONS

Employers are generally prohibited from requiring or requesting any employee or job applicant to take a lie detector test, and from discharging, disciplining, or discriminating against an employee or prospective employee for refusing to take a test or for exercising other rights under the Act.

EXEMPTIONS

Federal, State and local governments are not affected by the law. Also, the law does not apply to tests given by the Federal Government to certain private individuals engaged in national security-related activities.

The Act permits polygraph (a kind of lie detector) tests to be administered in the private sector, subject to restrictions, to certain prospective employees of security service firms (armored car, alarm, and guard), and of pharmaceutical manufacturers, distributors and dispensers.

The Act also permits polygraph testing, subject to restrictions, of certain employees of private firms who are reasonably suspected of involvement in a workplace incident (theft, embezzlement, etc.) that resulted in economic loss to the employer.

The law does not preempt any provision of any State or local law or any collective bargaining agreement which is more restrictive with respect to lie detector tests.

EXAMINEE RIGHTS

Where polygraph tests are permitted, they are subject to numerous strict standards concerning the conduct and length of the test. Examinees have a number of specific rights, including the right to a written notice before testing, the right to refuse or discontinue a test, and the right not to have test results disclosed to unauthorized persons.

ENFORCEMENT

The Secretary of Labor may bring court actions to restrain violations and assess civil penalties against violators. Employees or job applicants may also bring their own court actions.

THE LAW REQUIRES EMPLOYERS TO DISPLAY THIS POSTER WHERE EMPLOYEES AND JOB APPLICANTS CAN READILY SEE IT.



