Montgomery County Board Reorganization Minutes

Monday, December 2nd, 2024 – 5:00 PM

The following are minutes of a reorganization meeting of the Montgomery County Board held at 5:00 p.m. in the County Board Room of the Historic Courthouse in Hillsboro, Illinois on Monday, December 2nd, 2024.

OATH OF OFFICE was administered by Judge Kit Hantla.

<u>CALL TO ORDER:</u> The meeting was called to order by County Clerk Sandy Leitheiser at 5:05 p.m.

ROLL CALL: 12 members present, 2 members absent.

<u>Members Present:</u> Connie Beck, Bill Bergen, Rob Corso, Christine Daniels, Doug Donaldson, Keith Hancock, Mark Hughes, Jeremy Jones, Ethan Murzynski, Andy Ritchie, Chad Ruppert, Patty Whitworth

Members Absent: Russell Beason, Evan Young

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE was led by County Board Member Christine Daniels.

<u>SELECTION OF REORGANIZATION MEETING CHAIRPERSON BY COUNTY CLERK SANDY LEITHEISER:</u>

1. Nomination & Election of Temporary Reorganization Meeting Chairperson Update/Approval: County Clerk Leitheiser asked for nominations for Temporary Reorganization Meeting Chairperson.

Nomination by Whitworth and second by Corso to nominate Hughes. County Clerk Leitheiser asked three times for further Temporary Reorganization Meeting Chairperson nominations. Hearing none, nominations were closed. Motion by Whitworth and second by Corso to elect Hughes Temporary Reorganization Meeting Chairman by acclamation. All in favor, motion carried.

County Clerk Leitheiser turned over the meeting to Temporary Chairman Hughes.

SELECTION OF COUNTY BOARD CHAIRPERSON BY TEMPORARY REORGANIZATION MEETING CHAIRMAN MARK HUGHES:

1. Nomination & Election of Montgomery County Board Chairperson

Update/Approval: Temporary Reorganization Meeting Chairperson Hughes asked for
nominations for Montgomery County Board Chairperson. Nomination by Murzynski
and second by Beck to nominate Donaldson. Temporary Reorganization Meeting
Chairperson Hughes asked three times for further Montgomery County Board
Chairperson nominations. Hearing none, nominations were closed. Motion by
Murzynski and second by Ritchie to elect Donaldson Montgomery County Board
Chairman by acclamation. All in favor, motion carried.

SELECTION OF COUNTY BOARD VICE-CHAIRPERSON BY TEMPORARY REORGANIZATION MEETING CHAIRMAN MARK HUGHES:

1. Nomination & Election of Montgomery County Board Vice-Chairperson Update/Approval: Temporary Reorganization Meeting Chairman Hughes asked for nominations for Montgomery County Board Vice-Chairperson. Nomination by Jones and second by Daniels to nominate Patty Whitworth. Temporary Reorganization Meeting Chairman Hughes asked three times for further Montgomery County Board Vice-Chairman nominations. Hearing none, nominations were closed. Motion by Jones and second by Daniels to elect Patty Whitworth Montgomery County Board Chairwoman by acclamation. All in favor, motion carried. Temporary Reorganization Meeting Chairman Hughes turned the meeting over to Chairman Donaldson, who thanked the board.

RULES OF ORDER AD HOC COMMITTEE BY COUNTY BOARD CHAIRMAN DONALDSON:

- 1. Appointment of Rules of Order Ad Hoc Committee Update/Approval: Chairman Donaldson appointed Beck, Whitworth, Bergen, Hughes and Daniels to the Rules of Order Ad Hoc Committee. Motion by Donaldson and second by Hughes to appoint Beck, Whitworth, Bergen, Hughes and Daniels to the Rules of Order Ad Hoc Committee. All in favor, motion carried.
- **2.** Rules of Order Ad Hoc Committee Meeting Time & Date Update/Approval: The Ad Hoc Committee set a meeting time and date of 5 p.m. Thursday, December 5th in the County Board Room at the Historic Courthouse in Hillsboro.

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

1. <u>Announcement of Committee Chairpersons, Vice-Chairpersons, & Members Update/Approval:</u> Chairman Donaldson announced the following committees:

Coordinating Committee: Chairman Doug Donaldson

8:30 a.m. last Thursday of each month

County Board Room, Historic Courthouse, #1 Courthouse Sq. Hillsboro, IL 62049 Vice Chairwoman Patty Whitworth, Chad Ruppert, Mark Hughes, Ethan Murzynski, Andy Ritchie

Development & Personnel Committee: Chairman Chad Ruppert

5:00 p.m. two Mondays before Full Board meeting

County Board Room, Historic Courthouse, #1 Courthouse Sq. Hillsboro, IL 62049 Vice Chairman Bill Bergen, Russ Beason, Jeremy Jones, Chris Daniels

Building & Grounds Committee: Chairman Mark Hughes

8:30 a.m. Tuesday before Full Board meeting

County Board Room, Historic Courthouse, #1 Courthouse Sq. Hillsboro, IL 62049 Vice Chairman Russ Beason, Connie Beck, Keith Hancock, Evan Young

Road & Bridge Committee: Chairman Ethan Murzynski

8:30 a.m. Wednesday before Full Board meeting Montgomery County Highway Department, Route 185, Hillsboro, IL 62049 Vice Chairperson Bill Bergen, Patty Whitworth, Keith Hancock, Rob Corso, Chad

Ruppert

Finance & Budget Committee: Chairman Andy Ritchie

8:30 a.m. Thursday before Full Board meeting

County Board Room, Historic Courthouse, #1 Courthouse Sq. Hillsboro, IL 62049 Vice Chairperson Connie Beck, Chris Daniels, Rob Corso, Patty Whitworth, Evan Young

Rules of Order Ad Hoc Committee: Chairwoman Connie Beck

County Board Room, Historic Courthouse, #1 Courthouse Sq. Hillsboro, IL 62049 Vice Chairwoman Patty Whitworth, Bill Bergen, Mark Hughes, Chris Daniels

2. Other Announcements: Chairman Donaldson announced the UCCI County Board New Member Training will be held on Monday, Jan. 27th, 2025 at the President Abraham Lincoln Hotel in Springfield.

SCHEDULE CHANGES:

- 1. <u>Development & Personnel Committee Meeting:</u> Chairman Donaldson announced the Development & Personnel Committee will meet immediately following this meeting on Monday, December 2nd in the County Board Room at the Historic Courthouse in Hillsboro.
- **2.** Plains Solar Public Hearing: Chairman Donaldson announced the Development & Personnel Committee will reconvene the public Hearing for Plains Solar at 6 p.m. on Monday, December 16th in the County Board Room of the Historic Courthouse in Hillsboro.

PUBLIC COMMENTS: None

<u>ADJOURN:</u> Motion by Hughes and second by Jones to adjourn until the regular board meeting at 5:30 p.m. on Tuesday, December 10th, 2024. All in favor, motion carried.