## **Montgomery County Government**

Montgomery County was established by in 1821. The purpose of County government is to fulfill statutory requirements of county government in accordance with state and federal law and the Illinois Constitution. The county's elected governing body is the county board, which is composed of seven districts of two members each. The county board, along with elected and appointed county officers, provides a variety of services authorized under Illinois law for the public safety and convenience including law enforcement, emergency services, the criminal and civil court systems, public health, real estate tax assessment and collection, election administration, land records, local highway systems, vital records maintenance, and licensure and regulatory authority. The county government operates five primary sites, the locations of which are posted below. The county employs approximately 145 full-time and 17 part-time employees and for fiscal year 2022 has appropriated an operating budget of \$36,584,901.00. The diagram below sets forth the functional subdivisions of the county government.

| Elected Officials  |   | County Board & C                         | hairman   | <b>County Office Locations</b>  | oric Courthouse  Martin Siemer (217) 774-4212  Chief Judge –Effingham County Courthouse 120 W. Jefferson Effingham, IL 62401 |   |
|--|---|--|---|---|--|---|
| County Clerk Sandy Leitheiser 217-532-9530 PO Box 595, Hillsboro, IL 62049 County Treasurer Nikki Lohman 217-532-9520 #1 Courthouse Sq, Rm 101, Hillsboro, IL 62049  District 1 Connie Beck Jeremy Jones |   | e Beck Keith                             | ct 2 District 3 Hancock Evan Young Ruppert Doug Donaldson, C  | Montgomery County Historic Courthouse #1 Courthouse Square Hillsboro, IL 62049  Montgomery County Health Department |  |   |
| Circuit Clerk Daniel Robbins<br>120 N. Main, Rm 125, Hillsbor  | Distri<br>217-532-9540 Chris<br>ro, IL 62049 Patty  |  | l Beason Ethan Murzynski  | 11191 Illinois Rt. 185 Hillsboro, IL 62049 Montgomery County Courthouse Complex                                     | Amanda Ade-Harlow (217) 774-4212<br><b>Shelby County Courthouse</b><br>301 E. Main<br>Shelbyville, IL 62565                  | Christopher Hantla (217) 532-9546<br>Montgomery County Courthouse<br>120 N. Main<br>Hillsboro, IL 62049 |
| County Sheriff Tyson Holshor<br>140 N. Main, Hillsboro, IL 62  | 049   |  | Ritchie   | 120 N. Main Street Hillsboro, IL 62049  | Mark W. Stedelin (618) 548-3856<br><b>Marion County Courthouse</b><br>100 E. Main  | Chad Miller (618) 783-2524  Jasper County Courthouse 100 W. Jourdan                                     |
| State's Attorney Andrew Affrunti 217-532-9551 Robert Corso 120 N. Main, Hillsboro, IL 62049  |   |  | Montgomery County Courthouse Annex<br>203 S. Main St<br>Hillsboro,, IL 62049                          | Salem, IL 62881   | Newton, IL 62448   |   |
| Supt. Regional Ed. Julie Wollerman 217-532-9591<br>203 S. Main, Hillsboro, IL 62049  |   |  |   | Montgomery County Sheriff / 911 Complex<br>140 N. Main Street   | Josh Morrison (618) 283-5009 <b>Fayette County Courthouse</b> 221 S. Seventh St.   | Bradley T. Paisley (217) 824-4966<br>Christian County Courthouse<br>101 S. Main                         |
| County Coroner, Randy Leetham 217-532-9657   |   |  |   | Hillsboro, IL 62049   | Vandalia, IL 62471   | Taylorville, IL 62568   |
|  |   | Associate Judges                         |   |   | Mark Stedelin (618) 548-3856<br><b>Marion County Courthouse</b><br>100 E. Main<br>Salem, IL 62881                            | Wes Gozia (618) 548-3856  Marion County Courthouse 100 E. Main Salem, IL 62881                          |
|  | Allan F. Lolie<br><b>Shelby County Courthouse</b><br>301 E. Main<br>Shelbyville, IL 62565<br>(217) 774-4212 |  | Nathan Frisch<br>Christian County Courthous<br>101 S. Main<br>Taylorville, IL 62568<br>(217) 824-4966 | e   | Joel Powless (618) 665-3523 Clay County Courthouse 111 Chestnut Louisville, IL 62858   | Stanley Brandmeyer (618) 594-2464 Clinton County Courthouse 850 Fairfax Carlyle, IL 62231               |
| Chris Matoush Mont. County Courthouse  | Douglas Gruenke Clinton County Courthous  | J. Marc Kelly se Fayette County Courthou | Ericka A. Sanders  Marion County Courthouse   | Jeff DeLong Effingham County Courthouse   | Bryan M. Kibler (217) 774-4212<br><b>Effingham County Courthouse</b><br>120 W. Jefferson<br>Effingham, IL 62401              | Dennis Atteberry Christian County Courthouse 101 S. Main Taylorville, IL 62568                          |

## **Access to Public Records**

120. W. Jefferson

(217) 774-4212

Effingham, IL 62401

120 N. Main

(217)532-9540

Hillsboro, IL 62049

850 Fairfax

(618)594-2464

Carlyle, IL 62231

221 S. Seventh St.

(618) 283-5009

Vandalia, IL 62471

100 E. Main

Salem, IL 62881

(618) 548-3856

It is the policy of the county of Montgomery that information and public records will be conveniently available to members of the public. Most public records of the county are available for inspection or copying upon request and the payment of the statutory fee. Each department of the county maintains a list of all types or categories of records available within that office. Public records, which are stored by means of electronic data processing will be made available in a form comprehensible to persons lacking knowledge of computer language or printout form.