Veterans Assistance Commission of Montgomery County



Superintendent: Dave Strowmatt, Veterans Service Officer Accredited by National Association of County Veterans Service Officers, American Legion, Veterans of Foreign Wars, Disabled American Veterans, Vietnam Veterans of America and Military Order of the Purple Heart.


Provide Financial Assistance to Honorably discharged Veterans and their families as authorized under 330 Illinois Compiled Statutes 45, The Military Veterans Assistance Act. Financial eligibility guidelines are set at 130% of the Federal Poverty Guideline for a family unit.


Assistance with all US Department of Veterans Affairs claims and enrollments, i.e., disability compensation, non service-connected pension, Veterans Health Administration, survivor benefits


Commission President Rick Copple

Vice President Bill Cope

Secretary Fred Roach

Treasurer Louis Lewey


Member Veterans Service Organizations:

American Legion Post 94, Nokomis

American Legion Post 153, Hillsboro

American Legion Post 299, Raymond

American Legion Post 425, Irving

American Legion Post 436, Litchfield

American Legion Post 701, Waggoner

Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 1306, Taylor Springs

Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 3912, Litchfield

Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 6628, Panama

AMVETS Post 16, Litchfield

Marine Corps League Detachment 1385, Litchfield


Address Historic Courthouse Annex,
        201 S Main St, Hillsboro


Fax 217-532-2534

Email -

Hours Mon-Fri, 8:00 am to 4:30 pm, closed holidays